The Organisation

Our Group’s origins lay back in 1981 following the formation of a committee to mark ‘The International Year of Disabled People’, which subsequently became the ‘Llanelli Committee for the Disabled’. The Committee featured prominently in the conceiving, design and funding of what became known as the Coleshill Social Centre, a unique concept, years ahead of its time.

It soon became apparent that a dedicated group would be required to deal with a never-ending list of disabled access issues.

Focus, clarity and expertise were clearly required. Consequently, our Group became formally constituted on 14th July 1993 as the Llanelli Disabled Access Group.

On the 5th November 2010, to better reflect our widened geographical remit, we re-launched as the Carmarthenshire Disabled Access Group.



Equal Opportunities Statement


The Officers

Llanelli Disabled Access Group CommitteeFrank Allen MBE - Chairman

Elizabeth Evans MBE - Vice Chair

Mike Thomas - Treasurer

Roy John - Secretary


Honorary Officers:

Nia Griffith MP - Hon. President

Helen Mary Jones AM - Hon. President

Mrs Jan Williams - Hon. Vice President